Back from Hibernation!

Hello again! I’m back! It has been more than 9 months since I posted in my blog. Actually I planned on taking a short break from blogging as life was becoming pretty hectic, both personally as well as professionally. Soon the short break became long enough to be classified as hibernation. 🙂

On the personal front, God blessed my wife and me with a boy, four months back. Life has definitely changed a lots with the arrival of our bundle of joy.
Nowadays, I get very little time to pursue personal projects which has resulted in a backlog of several projects begging to be relieved of their pending status. I have slowly started working on them once again and hopefully I shall blog more regularly describing my progress.
In one of my previous blogs, I had mentioned that I was a finalist in the Windows 8 First Apps contest organized by Microsoft. Well, I am happy to say that I was one of the 8 winners of this competition. As the prize, I got a Samsung tablet (the same that was given to the attendees in Build 2011), 2 years of Windows Store membership and 1 year of Azure membership.

Here are a few of the personal projects that I am currently working on:

  • WPFSpark 1.2 : Minor bug fixes and addition of features requested by the users. Plus, addition of a new control.
  • Porting of WPFSpark controls to Windows 8 : Updating the code to utilize the WinRT libraries and take advantage of the asynchronous programming model.
  • Updating FlipSaw to the Windows 8 Release Preview (and then to RTM) : This has been a long pending task. Progress on this has been real slow, though I am happy to say that I am in the final phase of updation and am hoping to upload it to the Windows Store before the release of Windows 8 to the world.
  • FloTiles: This is the name of my next game which I am currently developing. It is a Windows 8 Metro application. It is also my entry to The Windows 8* & Ultrabook™ App Innovation Contest sponsored by Intel and hosted in CodeProject.
2 thoughts on “Back from Hibernation!

  1. Just read your new CodeProject article on NVM# – great work ! Am thinking of using WPFSpark on a new project, would be interested to know (A) when v1.2 might be available ? and (B) whether the 1.2 version would perhaps work with UWP/WinRT as well as WPF ? That would be awesome !!

    1. Thanks Steve! I have started the work on WPFSpark v1.2 and am hoping to release it by the end of this month. I am also planning a UWP version of WPFSpark too in parallel. Which of the controls are you planning to use for your project?

Leave a Reply

