Back again

Hi everyone!

My last post was in January 2013. It been a long time since then and a lot has happened in my life too in the past few years – changing jobs to changing location! I couldn’t devote much time to my pet projects & my blog. But now I am back once again with some good news.

I have once again starting giving time to my projects and the first fruit of this labor is the NVM# project which is a complete rewrite of my NVM project (my first project when I began my adventure with .NET) for the Windows 10 OS. It has the same look and feel of the Settings app and provides an effective way of managing and sharing your Environment variables.

nvmsharp

You can read more about it in my CodeProject article here.

Many folks have been asking me when I am planning to release WPFSpark v1.2. First of all, I would like to apologize for the delay in releasing v1.2. Second, it gives me immense pleasure to know that people are really liking my WPFSpark library and are eagerly waiting for the next version. Well the good news is I have begun working on v1.2 and am hoping to release it by the end of this month (November, 2015). Here is my plan of action for v1.2

  1. Bug fixes that have been reported in Codeplex site.
  2. Prioritizing of new features requested by users.
  3. Moving codebase to GitHub. Yes I will be moving the code to GitHub because I find it easier to use and collaborate there. Moreover, Visual Studio 2015 provides great integration with GitHub. It is the main reason I released NVM# in GitHub.
  4. UWP version of WPFSpark. Yes there will be a UWP version of WPFSpark! However not all controls will be ported at one go. Instead they will be added incrementally. I am still contemplating whether to port some of the controls like ToggleSwitch and FluidPivotPanel as there are similar controls available in UWP. The good news is that I had already ported FluidWrapPanel to WinRT for my FloTiles app and it will be the first one to be ported to UWP.
  5. I am still investigating on how to create a single code base for WPFSpark in GitHub which can cater to multiple dot Net frameworks and UWP. The Shared Project Template in Visual Studio might come handy. I am still investigating on that!
  6. Speaking of multiple dotNet frameworks, I am currently planning to release v1.2 for .NET 4.5, 4.6 and UWP. I haven’t decided whether to release for .NET 4.0. (Folks, do let me know! I might add it later)

Well that’s it for now! I will be back with more good news soon!

Time to code!

Leave a Reply

